Brisbane – Primaries Head Office

Queensland Primary Producers Co-operative Association Ltd (aka: Primaries)

Prior to the merger with its venture partner, Mactaggarts PPCA, back in 1975, Queensland Primary Producers Co-operative Association, better known as Primaries, was a major Queensland-based wool broking firm. Its origins date back to 1920 with an agreement with the wool broking firm, John Bridge & Co Ltd, and Mr Alan W Campbell OBE trading under the name Queensland Primary Producers Co-operative Agency Ltd. In 1927 the company was registered under the Primary Producers Co-operative Association Act of 1923, adopting the word Association into it’s trading name.


Alan Walter Campbell, Founder, and Managing Director
Maureen Mulcahy, In charge of the Head Office Front Counter

Fat Stock Department – Cannon Hill

Clarrie Phillips,
Tom Flanagan,
Barry Greenup,
Eric Bassingthwaighte,
Glenn Dunn, Joined as a Cadet in 1955, (initially worked in all departments but ended up in the Stock Department. transferred OUT to Townsville Branch in 1960)
Hilda Otto, Accounts


By 1966, Primaries was a major player in the Queensland Stock and Station Agency scene, with a branch network of 25. By then, merchandising was becoming a major contributor the Association’s bottom line. Highlighted below, is a Queensland Country Life merchandising special feature published in the 20th September 1966 edition.

This feature is courtesy of Mr Bruce Vidgen.

Photo Gallery of some of the well known Primaries Branch Managers possibly. Circa 1970/71


Primaries Head office team in 1974 prior to the merger with Mactaggart’s in 1975. Again, apologies to the people now known as P A s who did all the hard yards and are not recognised on this list. As compiled by Richard Handley (Facebook post 26/8/2022)

General Manager, D (Doug) G Trezise
Asst Gen Manager, B (Bruce) A Campbell
General Secretary, N Samios
Asst Secretary, H N McLean
Branch Division Manager, G S Henderson
Branch Liaison Officer, R M French
Admin Officer, L J Myers
Chief Accountant, E J (Ted) Ingram
Asst Accountant, W Ottaway
Data Processing, S Moore
Finance Officer, H Tew
Wool Dept, J M Cleeve, & Tom O’Brien
Tech Advisor, P Enright
Produce Dept, L Buglar
Property Dept, E F Boydell & L Thompson
Livestock Division Manager, A P (Peter) Lloyd
Fat Stock, Eric Bassingthwaighte & R Brown
Stud and Store Stock, R H Taylor, A D Barrett, B C Peake, M Walsh, J Palmer
Country Order Dept, E L Amies, Ross Pumpa and Peter Mee
Insurance Dept, K Scott
Travel & Service Dept, Trevor Odling & Mrs J Young.

Know more about the Primaries Brisbane Head Office timeline and people? Please use the form below to add too or edit this page information.

Last Updated 25/10/2022 SGT

Posted in : Primac Branches